## 2024 Mississippi Baptist Convention schedule

TUESDAY, OCTOBER 29, 2024

**First Session** 

8:30 a.m. Call to Worship Combined Baptist University Choirs and Orchestra Pleasant Hill Baptist Church Praise Team 8:35 a.m. Call to Order Bill Hurt, President, Mississippi Baptist Convention Senior Pastor, Pleasant Hill Baptist Church, Columbus Praver Chad Ball, Senior Pastor, First Baptist Church, Gautier Welcome Chip Stevens, Senior Pastor, First Baptist Church, Jackson Organization of the Convention Bill Hurt Recognition and Seating of Messengers Committee on Order of Business Report Grant Stegall, Chair; Senior Pastor, Desoto Hills Baptist Church, Southaven Announcement of Credentials and Tellers Committees Bill Hurt Presentation of Resolutions 8:55 a.m. **Report of Committee on Committees** Jason Webb, Chair; Pastor, Goodwater Baptist Church, Magee 9:00 a.m. Congregational Worship

Bobby Sanderson, Worship Pastor, Pleasant Hill Baptist Church,

Columbus

9:10 a.m. **Convention Board Report** Tommy Mitchell, President, Mississippi Baptist Convention Board Senior Pastor, Agricola Baptist Church, Lucedale 9:20 a.m. Business Session: Election of the President Scott Hanberry Presentation from the Constitution & Bylaws Committee Doug Gunn, Chair, Member, First Baptist Church, Jackson 9:45 a.m. Worship through Music Combined Choirs and Pleasant Hill Baptist Church 9:55 a.m. Celebrating 100 Years of the Cooperative Program Rick Blythe, Director, Stewardship/Praver Ministries, Mississippi Baptist Convention Board 10:05 a.m. Testimony – Disaster Relief Worship through Music **Combined** Choirs 10:15 a.m. **Bible Treasures** Ben Mandrell 10:40 a.m. Scripture Reading – Psalm 133.1-3 David Hopkins, Senior Pastor, Highland Baptist Church, Meridian 10:45 a.m.

Congregational Worship

Bobby Sanderson, Pleasant Hill Baptist Church 10:50 a.m. **President's Address** Bill Hurt 11:25 a.m. Benediction Robbie Savant, Member, First Baptist Church, Natchez Second Session 1:30 p.m. Worship through Music Mississippi Singing Churchmen Kristopher Smith, Director 1:45 p.m. Call to Order Scott Hanberry, First Vice President, Mississippi Baptist Convention; Member, Hardy Street Baptist Church, Hattiesburg Prayer Allegra Brigham, Member, Chester Baptist Church, Ackerman Scripture Reading - Ecclesiastes 4.9-12 Lawson Harlow, Pastor, Mercy Hill Church, Olive Branch 2:00 p.m. **Bible Treasures** Ben Mandrell 2:25 p.m. Worship through Music Mississippi Singing Churchmen 2:40 p.m. **Business Session** Bill Hurt Presentation of 2025 Budget

Michael Barnett, Chair, Budget Committee; Senior Pastor, First Baptist Church, Ocean Springs Results of Election of President Election of Convention Officers Presentation of Resolutions Miscellaneous Business Testimony – Christmas in the Delta

3:15 p.m. Congregational Worship Worship Ministry, Broadmoor Baptist Church, Madison Executive Pastor of Creative Arts, Mike Haight

3:25 p.m. Business Session Bill Hurt Election of Convention Officers Miscellaneous Business

**3:35 p.m. Mississippi Baptist Foundation Report** Daniel Hall, Executive Director, Mississippi Baptist Foundation, Jackson

3:45 p.m. Christian Action Commission Report Kenny Digby, Executive Director, Christian Action Commission, Jackson

3:55 p.m. Congregational Worship Worship Ministry, Broadmoor Baptist Church, Madison

4:10 p.m. Convention Sermon Josh Braddy, Lead Pastor, Broadmoor Baptist Church, Madison

4:45 p.m. Benediction Neil Marsh, Executive Pastor of Ministry, Broadmoor Baptist Church, Madison

**Third Session** 

6:25 p.m. Orchestra Prelude Combined Orchestras Testimony – Prison Ministry

6:35 p.m. Call to Order Bill Hurt Final Presentation of Resolutions

6:40 p.m.

## **Congregational Praise and Worship**

Kristopher Smith, Director, Worship Ministries, Mississippi Baptist Convention Board

## Prayer

Gregg Divinity, Senior Pastor, New Vineyard Baptist Church, Jackson

Scripture Reading – John 17.20-23 Clay Stegall, Associate Pastor, First Baptist Church, Pontotoc

7:20 p.m. Message Shawn Parker, Executive Director-Treasurer, Mississippi Baptist Convention Board

8:00 p.m. Benediction Mike Tyson, Member, First Baptist Church, Picayune

WEDNESDAY, OCTOBER 30, 2024

Fourth Session

8:30 a.m. Call to Order David Haynes, Second Vice President; Senior Pastor, First Baptist Church, Senatobia Prayer Dale Jackson, Member, First Baptist Church, New Albany Scripture Reading - Ephesians 4.1-6 Connie Gardner, Member, First Baptist Church, Baldwyn Memorial Service Greg Barker, Consultant, Bivocational Ministries, Mississippi Baptist Convention Board 8:50 a.m. **Congregational Praise** Worship Collective, Mississippi College Director, Tyler Kemp 9:05 a.m. Greetings from SBC Executive Committee Jeff Iorg, President & CEO, Nashville, TN 9:15 a.m. **Bible Treasures** Ben Mandrell 9:40 a.m. **Business Session** Bill Hurt Adoption of 2025 Budget Michael Barnett Report from the Constitution & Bylaws Committee Doug Gunn, Chair, Member, First Baptist Church, Jackson **Committee on Nominations Report** Jason Reed, Chair; Senior Pastor, First Baptist Church, Booneville **Resolutions Committee Report** Greg Belser, Chair; Senior Pastor, Morrison Heights Baptist Church, Clinton Miscellaneous Business Bill Hurt

Time, Place, and Preacher Committee Report Mark Taylor, Chair; Senior Pastor, New Hope Baptist Church, Saltillo 10:10 a.m. Recognition of Bivocational Pastor of the Year John Pace, Director, Leadership, Mississippi Baptist Convention Board **Testimony – Summer Missions** 10:25 a.m. **Introduction of University Presidents** Bill Hurt 10:30 a.m. Mississippi College Report Blake Thompson, President 10:40 a.m. **Congregational Praise** Worship Collective, Mississippi College 10:55 a.m. Message Anthony George, Senior Pastor, First Baptist Church, Atlanta 11:40 a.m. **Closing Remarks** Bill Hurt 11:45 a.m. Benediction Luke Gardner, Senior Pastor, First Baptist Church, Kosciusko