SBC presidential election candidates overview

By The Baptist Paper

As of last count, this year's Southern Baptist Convention presidential election will feature six candidates: David Allen, Bruce Frank, Mike Keahbone, Jared Moore, Clint Pressley and Dan Spencer.

See links below to read Q&A for each candidate.

David Allen

Allen, a prominent academic leader, preaching coach, speaker and author, announced Feb. 29 he plans to be nominated by Texas pastor Danny Forshee, pastor of Great Hills Baptist Church in Austin. After serving in various leadership roles for more than a decade at Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary, Allen now leads the Adrian Rogers Center for Biblical Preaching at Mid-America Baptist Theological Seminary in Memphis. **Read Allen's Q&A here.**

Bruce Frank

Frank announced April 2 his plans to be nominated by Tennessee pastor John Mark Harrison, pastor of First Baptist Concord in Knoxville. Frank is pastor of Biltmore Baptist Church in Asheville, North Carolina. He led the SBC's initial Sexual Abuse Task Force during the recent independent investigation into the Executive Committee's previous handling of sexual abuse allegations. **Read Frank's Q&A here.**

Mike Keahbone

Keahbone announced Jan. 30 his plans to be nominated by Victor Chayasirisobhon, pastor of First Southern Baptist Church Anaheim and director of missions for the Orange County Southern Baptist Association. Keahbone is pastor of FBC Lawton, Oklahoma, and has served as a member of the SBC Executive Committee since 2021 and is vice chair of the SBC's Abuse Reform Implementation Task Force. He formerly was a member of the Sexual Abuse Task Force. **Read Keahbone's Q&A here.**

Jared Moore

Moore announced Feb. 28 he plans to be nominated by Oklahoma pastor and senator Dusty Deevers. Moore is pastor of Homesteads Baptist Church in Crossville, Tennessee. He served the SBC as second vice president in 2014. **Read Moore's Q&A here.**

Clint Pressley

Pressley announced Jan. 22 he will be nominated by Chris Justice, senior pastor of Lee Park Baptist Church in Monroe, North Carolina. Pressley is pastor of Hickory Grove Baptist Church in Charlotte. Pressley served as vice president of the SBC Pastors Conference in 2013. He also served as first vice president of the SBC 2014–2015. In 2015, he served as a trustee – which included time as trustee chair – for Southern Baptist Theological Seminary. He also has served on the board of directors for the Baptist State Convention of North Carolina. **Read Pressley's Q&A here.**

Dan Spencer

Spencer announced April 17 he will be nominated by Chris Kendall, pastor of Oak City Baptist Church in Seymour, Tennessee. Spencer is pastor of First Baptist Church Sevierville. He preached during the 2001 SBC Pastors Conference and was a member of the SBC Committee on Committees in 2005. He served as Georgia Baptist Convention president 2009–2011. He also served 2015–2019 as a director of the Tennessee Baptist Mission Board. **Read Spencer's Q&A here.**